The First Big Test…

No excuses conceptSo, I started off 2016 with this great post about it being the Year of #NoExcuses and, truth be told, January went pretty great.  I hit my workouts, I found an awesome new chiropractor (who is also an Ironman triathlete), I dug into work and made huge headway on a number of projects, my nutrition was on point…  Great month!   I dropped 8 pounds in January and I swam 11.6 miles, biked 132.5 miles, and ran 40.4 miles.  Plus, I did strength training and karate classes twice per week.

All and all a successful base building month in my book.

As we launch into February, I am a little bit nervous.  Actually, I’m a whole lot nervous.  You see, this coming weekend 5 friends and I were supposed to run Ragnar Florida Keys – a 196 mile relay from Miami to Key West.  Only the Ragnar folks were denied their event permit and had to cancel the whole race.  But, we were planning to go anyhow so Deb and I are seizing the opportunity and heading to Key West for 11 days of vacation with her Dad.  11 days… no computer (except for my phone)… no work… no routine… And that’s where I tend to get into trouble.  I think that’s where a whole lot of people get into trouble.  It’s one thing to stay on track when we’re at our home base – in a controllable environment, but it’s something else when we take away all of the systems and structure that we’re used to.  It’s all fun and games until you throw vacation in the mix – with all it’s conditioned responses… the siren song of an unset alarm… the excuse of being in a strange town and not knowing where to go to work out…

The old me would take the 11 days off and enjoy myself.  I’d sleep in, relax, drink lots of beer, eat plenty of good (aka fattening) food, and just “vacation!”  But taking 11 days off from my training and nutrition plan and coming home with an extra 10 pounds on my body will not serve me or my goals in any way, shape, or form.  So, I have decided to do what I have to do to keep my eye on the prize… Ironman Florida… in NINE MONTHS!

However, here’s what the next 11 days look like… Duval Street… Bar, bar, bar, restaurant, boat, bar……

7702297066_6b9a9bc895_b

But lo, I see a road – that means I can run.  And although my bike isn’t accompanying me because we’re driving the convertible, I found a gym that has a weekly membership option… And a pool where I can swim at 5:30am (with a coach even) at the local Community College for only $5/day.

Mapped out the route between the condo and the pool and the gym... #noexcuses

I’ve already mapped out the route between the condo and the pool and the gym… #noexcuses

fail-to-planThere are #noexcuses for skipping my workouts – even if I may have to move things around and change things a bit – I have options to swim, bike, and run before anyone else in the condo is even awake – every single day.

And, of course, it’s Key West, so my wetsuit is coming along and I have every intention of getting in a few open water swims as well!

Food and drinking are a whole other issue, which scare me a bit, but I have the My Fitness Pal app on my phone, which keeps me pretty honest because I HATE having to log the bad stuff.  Drinking… My nemesis…  I’m going to allow myself 2 beers per day… period…  It IS vacation, afterall.  I will Instagram photos of my meals while I’m gone.  Not that anyone really gives a hoot what I’m eating, but I won’t want to post a picture of the fried conch platter, so I’ll be a hell of a lot more likely to order a bowl of soup and a salad.

I’m building in layer upon layer of accountability!  And, of course, at the end of the day, DEB will be there – the QUEEN OF ACCOUNTABILITY!  She will hold me to whatever I ask her to (so, I’d best be careful with what I commit to!)

Leave a Reply

