What’s For Lunch?

whats-for-lunchRecalling that 2016 is the Year of #NoExcuses , I have made it my business to get my butt in shape both in the gym and in the kitchen!  Breakfast, dinner, and snacks are not a big deal, but lunches often have me stumped!  I am not a big sandwich eater.  I don’t like the way bread makes me feel and most gluten-free breads taste like dirt.  When you take meat and bread out of the mix, lunches can become a bit perplexing – especially when you also don’t want to eat salads for lunch every day of the week.

Well, I’ve come across two recipes that I dearly LOVE that I thought I’d share with you guys.  The cool thing about them is that it is super easy to change the spices and create a whole new dish.

The first recipe comes from our friends at Forks Over Knives (by the way, I highly recommend this site for recipe – they also have an app that is VERY handy).

Mexican-Rice-Soup-LFedit-800x534Mexican Rice Soup

BY HEATHER MCDOUGALL

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 6 cups low-sodium vegetable stock
  • 1 15-ounce can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 15-ounce can black beans drained and rinsed
  • 1 15-ounce can pinto beans drained and rinsed
  • 1 15-ounce can fire-roasted tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 cup long–grain brown rice, toasted (see note)
  • Salt to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Place oil in a small pool in the center of a large skillet, and add garlic and onion.  Cook over medium-low heat for 4 minutes until soft.  (Again, I saute in water or broth)
  2. Add cumin, cayenne, and paprika.  Stir and cook for 1 minute to release flavors.
  3. Add diced tomatoes with liquid, water/broth, lentils, kale, and salt.  Stir and raise heat to high.  When mixture boils, reduce heat to low and cover.  Simmer for 20 minutes or until liquid is absorbed.

VARIATIONS:

I omitted the cumin and cayenne and added a couple of tsps of dried italian seasoning.  It was terrific.

I think this would also be good with a curry flavor.  I haven’t tried it yet, but I think it would work well.

 

If you’re bored with your lunch routine, give these recipes a whirl!  They are delicious and so versatile!  Bon appetit!

So, what’s for lunch in your neck of the woods?

3 thoughts on “What’s For Lunch?

  1. Lunch … it’s why God created leftovers! Have you seen the Plant Pure Nation Cookbook? I know there are many great recipes online, but this cookbook is fabulous and nice to have on the shelf. By the way, glad to see you joined the plant strong folks!! (I avoid the “v” word because of the almost religious connotations that go with it!)

    • LOL! Yes, I do love leftovers, but with a 13 year old boy in the house, we rarely have any… :/ I can’t call myself a “vegan” – I do like cheese on free days. And I have been known to have the occasional shrimp. 😉

Leave a Reply

