Okay 2016, Let’s Do This!

20151224_211738Well, it happened again… I blinked, and here we are launching another year.  It is really insane how quickly time seems to be passing these days.

We had a wonderful holiday!  December is usually a dead month in our business, but this year we were ridiculously busy (I am not complaining one little bit), so the contrast of transitioning from going Mach 5 with our hair on fire to vacation was AH-MAZING!!!!   All 3 kiddos were home, my Mom and her little Yorkie Jax were here too, AND we welcomed a new member of our family.  Meet Kona! She is a 9 week old Miniature Schnauzer who has completely stolen our hearts.  She came home on Christmas Eve and was the best Christmas present ever!20160101_094443

As usual, I took Christmas Eve through the first day back at work of the New Year completely off from all things structured – no structured schedule, no structured eating, no structured training.  It was glorious!  There are those who would disagree with me on the value of a “reset” at the end of each year, but it works for me!  Yes, I feel like a sloth… Yes, I usually gain a couple of pounds…  BUT, by the time the New Year rolls around, I am CRAVING healthy foods and a good stout workout, and that’s the whole point.  I’ll be honest, by Christmas Eve I was so sick of piles of lentils and rice, and the thought of getting on the bike – even my new fancy Chrissie – or heading to the pool or out for a run made me want to cry.  The break was good for me.

Last week I spent some of my off-time, compiling training schedules and spreadsheets through St. Anthony’s at the end of April.  I was excited to go swim and run yesterday (even if my suit fit like a sausage casing).  I am looking forward to my Iron Year.  I know it will be a challenge unlike any I have ever attempted.  I know there will be days when I want to quit.  There will be suffering and sacrifice.  That’s what it’s all about, right?  I will come out of 2016 a different person than I entered it – not just because I finish a long race on the first Saturday of November, but because of what I will have to do between now and then to reach that finish line.  It really IS all about the journey, isn’t it.

As the self-proclaimed QUEEN of self-sabotage, I have adopted a mantra for 2016.  In any given moment, I ask myself, “Is what I am doing (or about to do) moving me toward my goals or farther away from them?”  Is piddling around on Facebook helping me reach my goals or not?  Is eating that __________ taking me closer to my Ironman goals or not?  Am I working out in a way that is making me better or am I phoning it in to check a box?  If the answer is “No” then I stop.  I know those of you highly disciplined people may read that and say, “Duh…,” but for some reason the obvious tends to elude me.  :/

So, here’s to an awesome 2016!  It’s going to be a huge year all the way around.1-HNY

Leave a Reply

