Only 150 Days…

keep-calm-only-150-days-leftWhen I think about most things, I think of 150 days as being a pretty long way away…

When I think about a trip being 150 days away, it seems pretty far out there…

When I think about a work deadline being 150 days away, it feels totally doable…

GCTLogoBut when I was reminded yesterday that Gulf Coast Triathlon 70.3 is 150 days away, I freaked!  WHAT?  ONLY 150 days?  OH.MY.GOD!!! 😮

In 150 (now 149) days, I have to swim 1.2 miles in the Gulf of Mexico – and it’s not a “swim out past the break and then swim parallel to shore” type swim… It’s a “swim 1/2 mile out to sea, and then turn around and swim back” type of swim – THAT scares the heck out of me…

Then I have to get on my bike and pedal 56 miles…

THEN, I get to dismount the bike and run a half marathon…

It will likely be a 6-8 hour day – the longest race I have ever attempted.

And it’s only 149 days away.

I had planned to take the month of December off from structured training, but now I’m kind of scared to do that.  I’m scared I lose all that I’ve built over the past 6 months.

I know it’s important to rest and recover after the season, and I AM taking it easier, and I AM taking the week between Christmas and New Years off (consider that my off-season, I guess).

Coach Pam is busily preparing my training plan that starts 1/2/15.  I have a huge time goal for my first 70.3 and I know that the only way it’s going to happen is to stay true to my training, train hard, train smart, and no slacking.

I think I’m up for the challenge!

27373913_m

One thought on “Only 150 Days…

  1. Pingback: Gearing Up For 2015 | Angie's Excellent Adventures

Leave a Reply

