An Ode to New Shoes…

brooks

Brooks Adrenaline GTS 13

Okay, so it’s not an “Ode” – I wouldn’t know an “Ode” if it swam up and bit my behind.  But I DID get a new pair of running shoes today.

Back in May, 2013 when I started training for my first triathlon, I went to Spikes like a good newbie athlete and got fitted for a pair of running shoes.  I learned 2 things that day:

1.  The cool, multi-colored shoes that I wanted do NOT fit me right, and

2.  I wear a size 10D shoe – YES, a 10… D!!!!  My ex-husband was right all those years – I DO have WIIIIIDE, feet! 😮

Why on earth have I been buying size 9 shoes for the past -oh I don’t know – FOREVER?

That day some almost 18 months ago, I bought a shiny new pair of Brooks Adrenaline GTS 13s.

And I started running…

And they were wonderful!!!

Adrenaline-GTS-14-Womens-orange-pink

Brooks Adrenaline GTS 14

Then for Christmas last year, Deb bought me a new pair of Brooks – the GTS 14 – and I tried to love them.

Having no other experience, we both just assumed it was the same shoe in a different color scheme.  Live and learn…

I wore them everywhere to break them in…

I ran in them short distances…

I even forced the issue with a 20 miler in them a couple of weeks ago…

But they just aren’t the right shoe for me.  They HURT me!

They aggravate my PF and the toe box is too narrow so my feet start to go numb and throb after about 15 miles.

And I’m THREE WEEKS away from my first full marathon…

So, I met with Coach Pam and I whined and moaned and she had a brilliant solution…

Find another pair of 13s online, buy ’em and get on with it.

So simple, so obvious…

So that’s what I did – and if I could have found 10 pairs of 10D’s I would’ve bought them all, but I could only find ONE pair online in my size… ONE.

IMAG0079

Flannel jammies in Florida 🙂

But they are mine – actually they are on my feet right now.

And they feel soooooooo good!

But as I moved my footpod from my old pair to my new, I felt kind of sad – kind of like saying goodbye to an old friend.  Those kicks have propelled me through the run of each triathlon I’ve competed in.  They got me through training for and racing my first Half Marathon.  They’ve carried me through the bulk of my training for the Space Coast Marathon.  And now they’re done.

shoes

Gross but kinda awesome at the same time

I’ve put 704.16 miles on those shoes (yes, I know, I should’ve changed them out a long time ago).  I can’t believe I’m getting wistful about a pair of shoes.

I hope these shoes last a good long time, although I will begin the search for a new perfect running shoe soon.  And when I find it I will buy a half dozen pairs!!!

26.2 in 2 weeks and 6 days!  EEEEK!!!!!

IMAG0078

There is literally NO tread left on the bottoms of the old shoes. I didn’t really realize it until I saw the new ones!!!

 

Leave a Reply

