Because 26.3 Would Just Be Crazy…

26-3Several months ago, Coach Pam suggested that I consider adding a full marathon to my race calendar.

At the time, she actually suggested that the Dopey Challenge (running 48.6 miles in 4 days) would be a great goal (sometimes I think there might be a bit more than Spark in Coach Pam’s water bottle… just sayin…), but registration for Dopey 2015 was full in like 5 nanoseconds.

I have been fully focused on my blackbelt test preparation since March.  I’ve been biking and running too, but more in a maintenance mode than in real TRAINING mode.

Now, a month our from my blackbelt test, I’m looking forward to new goals and getting back into swim-bike-run training.

That is not AT ALL to say that my blackbelt test is a slam dunk – far from it – but aside from practice, I’m not sure what else I can do to prepare for it – it’s all such a big unknown mystery.   Increasing my endurance is probably the best favor I can do myself in the next month.

So, what does one do when they need motivation to train for endurance?

BINGO!  They sign up for a full marathon!

What?

What do you mean, “normal people don’t do such things?”

Well, who wants to be normal anyhow?

left_2bYes, I registered for the 2014 Space Coast Marathon in Cocoa Beach, FL on November 30, 2014!  SQUEEEE!!!

And, of course, now I start pondering how on earth I will manage to finish a 26.2 mile run.

I remember how bad my feet hurt at the end of the Disney Princess Half Marathon.

And then I realize that I had all those same qualms and questions when I registered for the half marathon too.

And I also know that after I finish this marathon I’ll wonder how I could possibly do that after swimming 2.4 miles and biking 112 miles.

And the answer to all those questions is that I’ll figure it out along the way – one day, one run at a a time.

I’m very excited!!

And when I get scared, I will remind myself that my friend, Angel, ran Space Coast when she was 20 weeks pregnant.  If she can do THAT, then I have absolutely NO excuses!!

space-Coast-Marathon-medal

Isn’t the medal AWESOME!!!!

Here’s a fly-over of the course… It looks wicked long…

One thought on “Because 26.3 Would Just Be Crazy…

  1. Pingback: An Ode to New Shoes… | Angie's Excellent Adventures

Leave a Reply

