It’s My Tri-versary!

tri-versaryAhhhhh!  I am happily back home in Florida today!  I’m not exactly sure what cruel joke the weather Gods are trying to pull up in Virginia, but when I left yesterday morning, the thermometer in my car said it was 23 degrees!!!  23 Degrees – Fahrenheit – in mid-April!!!  That’s just nuts!!

Today is my one year TRI-VERSARY!!

Yes, I know that’s not a word.

It was one year ago today that I decided to register for and train for my first triathlon.

It’s amazing when I think back at how far I have come in this past year.

I was 20-ish pounds heavier.  My bike was in good shape, but I couldn’t swim 100m and I couldn’t run a mile!

Endless_Summer_Triathlon 2013-07-13 028Since then I have competed in a Sprint-Distance Triathlon, an Olympic-Distance Triathlon, 3 5Ks, and a half marathon.

I have committed to running a marathon in the Fall, a Half-Iron Distance Triathlon next April, and a Full Iron Distance Triathlon in November, 2015!

These are things I could not have even fathomed even considering a year ago.

And today, I know it will be a long, hard road, but I have NO DOUBT in my mind whatsoever that I can accomplish each one of those considerable goals – just putting one foot in front of the other.

Keep moving forward!

So, Happy Tri-versary to me!!

patchAnd, to bring you up to date on news from karate land, I had my “Come to Jesus” talk with my head instructors at karate on Tuesday night.

It was not as bad as it could have been.

Positives:

  • They were very complimentary of my knowledge of “the book” – I know the belt material for every belt thusfar better than most people.  YAY!
  • Grappling is good.  YAY!
  • They were pleased with my physical conditioning.  Thank Goodness for triathlon training!!
  • They were happy with my foot work (this has been an issue in the past, so I’m glad all those miles of C-steps I’ve been doing for the past year or so paid off).

Negatives

  • I am not a commanding instructor.  I have self-confidence issues.  I have difficulty correcting my peers.  Uh, yeah… I know…
  • nervousMy hand positions are too “feminine.”  Okay, fair enough.
  • My self-defense is stiff and somewhat robotic. This is a big one.  I will be working on this like crazy between now and July 26th

So, all-in-all not so bad.  I have my marching orders and I can make it better.  So I will!

T-minus 100 days and counting!!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

