My Top Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Food Finds

GFCFEarlier this year my 11-year old son was diagnosed with a disorder caused by the overproduction of the amino acid glutamine in his brain.  It manifested in erratic behavior and an exacerbation of his already “obsessive-compulsive” personality.  One of the things his doctor suggested was a gluten-free/dairy-free nutrition regimen.

At the time, Deb and I had been eating essentially GFCF for several months, so it was not a struggle for us to get Josh on board.  He has been eating GFCF for 3 months now and has adjusted so well to his new “normal” – he reads labels and is proud that he can take control of what he puts in his body.

I am a firm believer in cooking from scratch.  I don’t use a lot of processed foods; however, when it comes to packing portable lunches  for the three of us, sometimes it’s just not feasible to pull out the portable cooktop.

I fully admit that I am a newbie in the GFCF world, but I though I would share my top GFCF supermarket finds with you all (in no particular order).

Nabisco-Rice-ThinsNabisco Brown Rice Thins – Delicious, crunchy, substantial crackers that come in a number of flavors.  Josh’s favorite is the Sea Salt & Black Pepper.  Great with peanut butter or lunch meat or shrimp or just by themselves!

probar-coreProBar Core Bars– Trying to find a GFCF protein bar that has adequate protein and doesn’t taste like dirt is a trick.  I have probably spent the better part of Josh’s college account buying and testing bars only to get the “Ewww” face.  While checking out at my local health food store (shopping trip to buy more protein bar samples), I saw Core bars in a display, checked out the label and bought the 2 flavors that were in stock – Cookie Dough and Chocolate Peanut Butter.  Josh tried both and gave them both a hearty two thumbs up!  I also tried them – WOW!!  They are GOOD!  I buy them by the case online.

tofuttiTofutti Sour Supreme– Dairy-free sour cream?  Yep, and I can pronounce all the ingredients too!

almond-milkSilk Pure Almond Milk– Meal Replacement shakes, Recovery Shakes,and Protein Shakes are a mainstay of our daily nutrition regimen, and although you CAN mix the shakes with water, they leave a little something to be desired.  Plus, they just don’t stick with you nearly as long.  Silk Almond Milk is just the ticket!!  It provides some richness and satiety that you just can’t recreate with water.  And at 30 calories per cup -it’s AWESOME!!

Amys-Kitchen-vegan-GFCF-pizza-2Amy’s Rice Crust Spinach Pizza – Josh’s major lament when it comes to his new lifestyle was that he couldn’t have pizza. However, a quick scan of our local Publix freezer section led to the discovery of Amy’s brand pizzas.  While they are not all GFCF, we did find a spinach pizza with a rice crust and soy-based mozzarella and ricotta cheeses.  Josh declared it yummy and ate the whole pie!

applewoodSmokedUncuredCenterCutBaconMaverick Uncured Applewood Smoked Center-Cut Bacon– Without a doubt this is the BEST bacon I have ever purchased in a store!  Nice thick (but not too thick) slices.  Wonderful flavor.  Perfect for free-day breakfasts.  It’s not cheap at ~$8 for a 12 oz package, but it is so worth it!

chicken-nuggetsApplegate Gluten-Free Chicken Nuggets– What kid doesn’t like chicken nuggets? Well, Josh is no exception, and these GFCF nuggets are just the ticket.  I dare you to be able to tell that they are GFCF.

Multigrain2Rudi’s Gluten-Free Multigrain Bread – I’m not gonna lie, this bread is NOT very good cold – it’s very dry and crumbly and well, yucky.  However, this bread makes some of the best TOAST I have ever had – gluten-free or not!  I would buy this bread for toast over any bread out there – PERIOD!  Good stuff!  Crispy on the outside, moist on the inside.  Perfection!

quinoapastaAncient Harvest Quinoa PastaI’ve blogged about this pasta before but it is so awesome it’s definitely worth another mention!  Again, I would choose this pasta over any whole wheat or white pasta any day of the week!

Hope this post gives you some ideas for incorporating more GFCF foods into your food plan!

2 thoughts on “My Top Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Food Finds

  1. I have two more suggestions for you!
    Little Northern Bakehouse bread is the best gluten free vegan bread I have ever had.

    Kite Hill Artisan Almond Milk dairy prouducts are to die for – savory almond milk cheese spreads are amazing. Really.

Leave a Reply

