No Wine-ing

tootI just have to toot my own horn for a second (as if I don’t already do enough of that on this blog 🙂 )!

It has been 10 months to the day since I have had a glass of wine – or a thimble of wine for that matter.

Now that might not sound like a big deal to some of you out there, but anyone who has known me for any length of time knows what a HUGE thing this is for me!

I’m not saying I was/am an alcoholic, because honestly, I don’t think I am.  I have never had an issue with hard liquor or beer, but wine has been a weakness for most of my adult life.

And that, in and of itself, is not a bad thing.  I mean, red wine (my particular favorite was a nice dry Cabernet Sauvignon) has a number of health properties, so having a glass every once in a while may actually prove beneficial.

Except that I could never just stop at one glass.  For me, it was the bottle or why bother…

Back in my previous life, I would drink a bottle of wine more nights than not each week.  If my husband was out of the house, I drank wine.  It makes me very sad to think about the example that set for my son in his very early life.

It was a bad path…

Then, I met Deb and started down my current path and wine was an indulgence for Free Days only.  And indulge I did!!  Keep the food, on Free Days I wanted a nice bottle of Kenwood Cab – all for ME!!!!

Then last year, I got the notion to register for a triathlon and I decided that I was going to train hard and eat clean for the 90+ days leading up to the event.

no-wineAnd THEN I decided that this would be the perfect time to quit drinking my beloved wine – although my intention was to just stop until after the triathlon.

Monday, May 6, 2013, was the first day of my new lifestyle.

nervousIt was hard at first, I am NOT gonna lie!!

About 30 days in, Deb and I went to our favorite oceanfront restaurant and we ordered our favorite appetizers and she ordered a glass of wine – at my urging.  After all, what good was it to not drink in the vacuum of my home where there was no temptation.  I had to be able to function in social situations and handle the “peer pressure” of others drinking around me.

As time went on it got easier and easier.  The triathlon came and went and Deb and I went on a vacation and I made the advance decision that if I really, really wanted a glass of wine, I would have one.

The funny thing is, I never REALLY wanted one, so I didn’t have any.

Then came another triathlon – so I just kept on not drinking.

Then a half marathon, so I kept going…

funny-pictures-i-haz-a-proudAnd today it is March 6, 2014 and it has been 10 months since I have had even a sip of wine.

I am proud of that fact.  I am proud that the example I am setting for my son is of health and fitness and setting big, huge crazy goals and then figuring out a way to make them my reality.  THAT is a legacy to be proud of.

So, I think I’ll keep going!

One thought on “No Wine-ing

  1. Pingback: 2014 In Review | Angie's Excellent Adventures

Leave a Reply

