What’s the Opportunity that THIS is?

opportunity2My livelihood centers on peak performance and mindset coaching, so I have been trained to look at everything from a “glass half full” perspective.

I work very hard to see the opportunity in situations rather than the obstacle.

Easy to do with clients, not so easy to do in my own life!

I have noticed that ever since the half marathon, I am just not “into” training.  I took 3 days off last week following the half, I didn’t run at all until the 5K on Saturday, I knocked out a half-hearted trainer ride on Friday and did a leisurely 7 mile ride to pick up my car on Sunday.

I was all psyched to jump out of bed on Monday morning raring to leap into focused martial arts training for the next 4 months, but it didn’t happen.

Yes, I’ve done my workouts, but other than the actual karate classes I feel out of focus, drifting without a destination… And I do not like it!

I know that I always perform better when I have a plan.  But Ironman -FL 2015 is 20 months away, and although it is a gargantuan goal, for sure, I just can’t get all ginned up about training for it yet.

So I voiced my concerns to my coach.  I told her I feel kind of lost and I’m not sure what to do about that.  She said it was 100% normal after a big event.

And then I remembered a post Swim-Bike-Mom did on the subject.  She called it “Post-Race Crabbies”.  Whatever you call it, it’s not fun and I don’t like feeling like a boat without a rudder.

dopey-challenge-graphicSo, in my infinite wisdom, I asked Pam to help me come up with a new goal.

Understanding that I can’t put in a huge volume of training hours until August, could we work strength and speed goals until then and then ramp up the mileage volume in the Fall, possibly working toward a full marathon in early 2015?

She shot back that mine was a fine goal, but what she thought would be a BETTER goal would be to run a full marathon in November or December THIS year and then run the Dopey Challenge in January, 2015!

tumblr_m6409bW3pa1rwcc6bo1_500Queue “What ‘Choo Talkin’ Bout, Willis?”

48.6 miles in 4 days – NO WAY!!!!  But then of course my competitive side pops up and says, “Why NOT?”

So, I have my marching orders… Find a fun marathon for the end of the year and sign up for the Dopey Challenge when registration opens at NOON on April 22, 2014!!  I have it scheduled in my calendar!

OH.MY.GOD!!!  Here we go again!!!!

I am all for setting BIG, unrealistic, super-stretch goals, but 2015 looks CRAZY!!!  If it doesn’t kill me, it will definitely make me stronger!

Look at all the pretty medals!!!!

Look at all the pretty medals!!!!

One thought on “What’s the Opportunity that THIS is?

  1. Pingback: Because 26.3 Would Just Be Crazy… | Angie's Excellent Adventures

Leave a Reply

