Tri-Mantra

A friend on a Triathlon forum shared this poem by Olivier Blanchard today and I thought I would share it with you!

Tri-mantra
(to be hissed or groaned at any unfriendly hill)

by

Olivier Blanchard (Greenville, SC)

In my world,
The water is cold,
The wind is hard,
And the road never ends.

In my world,
There are no losers.
Only competitors
still on their way,
And spectators
waiting to be inspired.

In my world,
Victory is not weighed in gold,
But in determination and courage.

In my world,
There are no boundaries,
No limits,
There is no end.
Every day is the last day of my life,
And the first.

In my world,
The word “can’t” does not exist,
And nothing is impossible.


I love it!!  It summarizes my feelings about triathlon perfectly!  It’s never been about “winning” – unless I’m beating the crap out of the “old me.”

It’s about just getting out there and being better today than you were yesterday – and BELIEVING in yourself and all that your magnificent body is capable of.

Hope you have a fantastic day!!

Leave a Reply

