The Big Run

14-mileSaturday’s run was the run I have been anticipating (and somewhat dreading) since November when Coach Pam gave me my training schedule.

14 miles!

Now, I know for a lot of you, that’s a nice, easy warm up – a recovery day – but for me it represented my longest run ever and the test of whether I could actually run a half marathon (and then a little bit).

Running for 2+ hours was a daunting proposition for me.

Plus I loaded on just a bit more pressure… After my 6 mile straight-thru run on Monday, I wanted to see if I could actually RUN the 14 miles – no Galloway intervals, just running… Negative splits…

And so, I did… MOSTLY.  The only time I walked was when I was taking a gel (I still haven’t figured out how to suck down a gel, squeeze all of it out of the packet and NOT trip over my own feet – it’s a safety thing… REALLY!)

14-mile-splitsI made it through 13.5 miles on pace before my right hamstring cried “Uncle!” and seized into a major charlie horse.  I limped/walked/ran/sprinted through that last 1/2 mile, trying so hard to meet my 8:45 pace, but alas, it was not to be.

I’m still calling it a HUGE win though – I mean, I’ve gone from barely being able to run/walk a 10K to being able to run a negative split half marathon in 3 months – that’s not too shabby!

This week training volume begins to taper.  The Disney Princess Half Marathon is 20 days away.  I will be ready.

Today, however, I am doing 10 miles on the elliptical.  No pavement pounding today!

Have a great week everyone!!

2 thoughts on “The Big Run

Leave a Reply

