Keeping It Simple…

fogMy Mom is a HUGE advocate of keeping things simple.  She has a whole shelf of books devoted to the concept of living a simple/simplified life (Sarah Ban Breathnach, anyone?) that she has read over and over again.

I get the idea and I like things clean and simple – I really do.

However, when life gets overwhelming (as it tends to do often these days) I turn into a squirrel – over here, no there, no, back over there…  Things get “cluttered” – literally and figuratively – my desk, my house, and most of all MY MIND!!!

And that generally doesn’t work so well since I share my life with an OCD, neat-freak.

Eventually there comes a point where I snap and I can’t stand the clutter anymore – literally and figuratively – and I clean – my desk, my house, and most of all MY MIND!!

How does one go about cleaning their mind, you ask?

Well, I imagine the “gurus” all have their techniques, but for me, I just have to stop – EVERYTHING!  I go to a quiet place, sit down, close my eyes, and empty my mind.  I repeat “Every complex problem is just a series of simple steps – keep it simple” over and over again.

It’s as if I swiffer out all the cob-webby thoughts that were cluttering up the dark corners.

Sometimes it only takes a few minutes… Sometimes it takes an hour, but I ALWAYS feel refreshed and rejuvenated when I do this exercise.  I come back to my very complex world and start breaking things down to simple tasks, and the overwhelm does go away – for a while. 😉

Believe it or not, this post was not intended to be about my mental swiffering, but rather to share the thought that sometimes simple is just BETTER!!

Last night’s dinner was a perfect example.  We had steamed Old Bay Shrimp and corn on the cob and it was so, so good!  Nothing fancy, no recipes with 20 steps and 30 ingredients, just simple, real food.

I just wanted to share the recipe:

Steamed Old Bay Seasoned Shrimp

Steamed Old Bay Seasoned Shrimp

Steamed Old Bay Shrimp

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. shrimp in shells
  • 1/2 cup white vinegar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 Tbsp. Old Bay seasoning

Directions

  • Bring vinegar, water, and Old Bay to a simmer in a large saucepan.  Add shrimp to pan.  Stir well.  Cover.  Shrimp should be opaque when cooked (only a few minutes).
  • Drain shrimp.  Peel and eat.

corn-on-the-cobCorn on the Cob

Ingredients

  • 4 ears of corn, shucked
  • water

Directions

  • Put corn in a stockpot and add water to cover ears by a couple of inches.
  • Bring water to a boil
  • Turn heat back to Low and allow to simmer for 10 minutes
  • Drain water, add butter, Voila!!

Leave a Reply

