Hurry Up and … WAIT!

chickenpatienceToday is my day “off” (snicker… snort)!

No exercise (a good thing because it is raining cats and dogs), no “work” to speak of scheduled, but it is my errand day.

  • Food shopping
  • Bike Fitting Part II
  • Delivery service to daughter #2 at college
  • Oil change at BMW Service
  • Pick up Josh and take him to swim team
  • Grab some sundries at Target
  • Home to make dinner
  • Collapse!

Presently, I am hunkered down in the customer lounge at Fields BMW in Daytona Beach – and from the sounds of things, I will be here for quite a while.

Now this is not a complaint, it’s just a statement of fact, I really hate waiting on things – I am a completely impatient person (have I mentioned that before?).

I am most impatient with myself – always feeling like I should be progressing faster than I am.

I am REALLY impatient while I’m training… Well, if I just go faster, I’ll be finished sooner… often to my detriment.

My level of patience (or lack thereof) is one of Coach Pam’s biggest challenges with me.

I am forever receiving texts/emails like the one I got last night:

“Let me know how the 14 miler goes – good night champion! I know you will rock it and love it – coaching tip of the day… if you decide to skip intervals in the 14 miler – make it the final 6 not the first 6  🙂  Patience my little distance rocket!  and Pacing…”

She is so good to me!

14-mile-mapSo, tomorrow is my longest run to date – 14 miles! I have a hard time wrapping my head around that one – I’m running farther than I BIKED in the sprint triathlon last summer!!!

CRAZY!!!!

I’m psyched for it though, and I will do my very best to be patient – although I really do want to attempt to run the entire distance – at Pam’s pacing plan.  Hmmmmm, what to do?

One thought on “Hurry Up and … WAIT!

  1. That cartoon is so funny! About the 14 miler, I run a similar distance for the first time a couple of weeks ago… go for endurance and definitely not spped, better run the whole way, even if you have to slow down, than run faster and then be forced to walk.

Leave a Reply

