The “Intuitive” Run

intuitionYesterday I was supposed to run 14 miles; however, upon careful examination of my schedule, there was no way in the world to shoehorn a run that would likely take me 2-1/2 -ish hours to complete into an already jam-packed work and family schedule.

I tried to finagle it, but it just wouldn’t work unless I ran in the dark, which I would do if the street were lit, but it’s not and I just feel creeped out by the idea of running when I can’t see what’s around me.

So, rationalizations aside, I DID run.  I just reconfigured my training around a crazy work week.

Instead of yesterday’s 14 mile run, I swapped in Friday’s “intuitive” 3 mile run.

Here were my instructions…  Program a workout with 3 1-mile intervals without a pace target.  Use your Garmin only for the beeps to tell you when the miles pass, DO NOT LOOK at the watch at all!  Listen to your body.  Run negative splits and keep the entire run at recovery pace – never uncomfortable or all out.

So, that’s what I did.  Having no clue how fast I was going, I just went a little bit faster each time the Garmin beeped.  I was always within my comfort zone – always feeling like I had lots more to give.

intuitive-splitsIt was fun, but really weird at the same time!!  I was shooting for 10 seconds faster on each mile.  I missed!  It was more like 30 seconds faster, but that was okay.

I find that I am VERY dependent on my Garmin.  I WANTED to look at it so bad!

I felt like I NEEDED its digital confirmation that I was doing the right thing.

Kinda silly when you think about it, huh?

The idea behind this workout, again, is for me to learn to run by feel, not by watch.

What would happen if I were so dependent on my electronics during a marathon and the battery died during the run?  What would I do then without my “plan?”

So, all-in-all a fine effort.  I give myself a B+!

P.S.  On day 2 of no complaining – YAY ME!  And no more chocolate binges – I have been very, very clean! 🙂

Leave a Reply

