What I Want Most

discipline1_largeIn my business we talk a lot about DISCIPLINE.  When we are working with people who are trying to kick their results up a notch or two (or 100), you just can’t get past the issue of changing habits, which requires the dreaded “D” word.

In my own life – post 2010 at any rate – I was NOT a disciplined person.

Oh sure, I had all the information and the knowledge I needed to do pretty much anything I wanted – lose weight, get in shape, make more money, have a better relationship with my then-husband, be a better Mom, a better friend, a better person – all that, but knowledge is never enough, there has to be action.

And taking the right actions until they become new habits is hard – especially under stress.  When you’re under stress, or have to “react” in the moment, your conditioning and old habits are going to be what comes out, not the new behavior you are trying to form into a new habit.

At its most basic level discipline is the choosing between what you want NOW and what you want MOST.  Seems simple enough, but it is obviously very difficult in practice or else there would be one hell of a lot more thin, fit, rich, happy people in the world.

This  morning I was in my karate class and Deb got real with me.  She said, “Angie, you are light years ahead of anyone – past or present – leading up to their black belt test in terms of your command of the “book” – you know the material cold. Congratulations.  But your fundamentals are sloppy.”

aristotleShe went on to share that during my upcoming test for black belt in July I won’t have a brain left at many different points, and what will come out during those times are the things I have practiced 10,000 times – right or wrong.  And if “wrong” comes out too many times  – in terms of basics and fundamentals of self-defense (like good covers and snapping up at the end of a move ready to fight and intensity of movement even at slow speed) then all hell will break loose in that testing room.

Brown Belt Promotion

My goal is to have one of the best black belt tests ever in the history of our school.  I want to walk out knowing that I gave everything I had and did the very best I am capable of, not that I just squeaked by, or God forbid, that I failed.

So, in front of God and the blogosphere, I, Angie Flynn, commit to having the self-discipline to work on the fundamentals of my sport each and every day.  It’s back to the basics for this girl – intensity, proper form, snapping techniques, following protocols, and more.

It is so easy to get free and loose during class with Deb and laugh and fool around, and that has it’s place, but not between now and July.  Because, again, in the heat of the moment, what I have done 10,000 times in class is what will show itself.  I’ve got work to do.

Leave a Reply

