Knocked Out of My Comfort Zone

where-the-magic-happensWhen I decided to take on the challenge of training for a triathlon, I did so basically for 3 reasons:

1.  I wanted a training program that would challenge me because I wanted to release some extra weight;

2.  I love to bike; and

3.  I figured it would, one way or another, get me over my fear of the ocean.

The running part was not something I was looking forward to.  I’ve never been a runner, I didn’t want to be a runner, but if you want to race triathlon, it kinda comes with the package.

Fast-forward 8 months and running is my favorite of the three disciplines – I NEVER, EVER thought I would say that!!

Last week, Coach Pam gave me a fun training program for the month leading up to the Disney Princess Half Marathon and this week is kind of the climax of that program as far as volume goes:

  • Monday – 6 mile negative split run
  • Wednesday – 14 mile negative split run
  • Friday – 3 mile negative split (but I can’t look at my Garmin)
  • Saturday:  Brick – Bike 90 min/Run 15 min

So this week I am running just shy of a marathon!!  OMG!!

This morning’s run knocked me out of my comfort zone in a number of ways.

6-mileFirst, I run at about a 9:30 pace (Galloway run/walk intervals of 2 min/30 sec), today’s run was 6 miles at an average pace of 8:50 (Mile 1,2:  9:00/mi; Mile 3,4:  8:50/mi; Mile 5,6:  8:40/mi) so I knew it was going to be a little quicker than I’m used to, hence a bit uncomfortable.

Second, I programmed the workout into my Garmin, but when I started to clock, the only parameters showing on my screen were Distance and Pace – there was no timer, so I had no idea when my run/walk intervals were coming.  I was already heading out the door late, and I didn’t want to take the time to reconfigure the screen, so I just decided to run and see how far I could go without any walk breaks. That decision was VERY uncomfortable.

BUT, I ran the entire 6 miles (except for about 10 steps of walking to make my pacing work out on Mile 3 and stopping for traffic to cross the street at about 5-3/4 miles) and I exceeded my pacing targets every single interval!!

6-mile-splitsI am soooo excited!!  I really like Galloway running and I know so many people who have run marathons using the walk/run method, but I can’t help feel like I’m gaming the system.  I want to be one of those runners who can head out the door and pop off a marathon without walking.

I don’t know if I’ll ever get to that point, but I will take a non-stop 6 mile run at a 8:45 pace as a damned fine start!!

If is quite phenomenal to look back and see how far I have come in just a few short months.

Thank GOD for Coach Pam (who I think I heard shriek with delight across the river as she read my text) who pushes me out of my comfort zone – where the magic can happen!!

2 thoughts on “Knocked Out of My Comfort Zone

  1. Pingback: The Big Run | Angie's Excellent Adventures

  2. Pingback: Run Faster [NOT by me] |

Leave a Reply

