Overcoming Inertia

perfect-conditionsInertia is the resistance of any physical object to any change in its state of motion.

In other words, a body at rest tends to remain at rest unless acted upon by an outside force.

Well, that was me this morning – a body at rest…

Coming off of a nearly 2 week exercise sabbatical, and finally sleeping really well again has made me somewhat… resistant to the early wake up calls to hit the pavement.

This morning was particularly bad.  I woke up at 6:30 and looked at the time and temperature projected on the ceiling.  It was 39 degrees… 39 DEGREES!!  FAHRENHEIT!!!

39 degrees Fahrenheit in FLORIDA!!

And then wind was blowing – HARD!

I laid there for about 15 minutes before convincing myself that running in the cold and wind was just stupid.

Seriously, why should I put myself through that?

I got a text from Deb who told me to enjoy my run.  I texted back, “No way!  It’s cold outside… and windy… I’m not going – I’ll do it tomorrow.”

A few back and forths and she agreed that I should skip the run…

Well, she didn’t actually AGREE so much as concede that she was 300 miles away and couldn’t do anything to physically propel my sorry butt out the door, which, if you think about it is really the exact same thing, right?

Just as I put my phone down on my desk it started…

The feelings of guilt… that I was a slack-ass, crybaby who was going to let a little bit of cold weather derail her training plan.

AHHHHHHH!!  I hate that voice in my head!!

So, I put on my running pants and 2 layers of long-sleeve shirts and off I went for my first ever 10 mile run – in the cold, with a stiff north to south wind.

Dang, my blood has thinned in just a few years!  4 years ago, I wouldn’t have even put on a jacket on a 40 degree day in January – it would have felt balmy.

I overcame the inertia (and the justification and excuse making machine) and went for my run and it was FREAKING FREEZING AWESOME!!!

I am proud that I (generally) choose to do the right things – the hard things – the things I know I need to do, but don’t necessarily FEEL like doing in the moment.

If-you-want-to-make-your-dreams-come-true-first-thing-you-have-to-do-is-wake-up-Famous-QuotesThat’s the difference between the people who make their dreams their reality and the people who just engage in wishful thinking – they do what others won’t so they can have what others don’t.

conquering-inertia-sizedI don’t care what your goals are – fitness, personal, professional, financial, spiritual, whatever – you have to overcome the inertia and do what you need to do long after you stop feeling like doing it.

What are your dreams?

What is one action you can take today that will move you just a little bit closer to making those dreams realities?

Go do that thing now!

Leave a Reply

