A Swim-Bike-Run Christmas

2013-12-24 001 2013-12-23 009What a wonderful Christmas we had here at the Cheslow-Flynn house!!

The majority of my presents had a distinct “theme” – SWIM – BIKE – RUN!!

A Triathlon Christmas – how WONDERFUL!!

Indoor trainer workout videos, compression socks, new running shoes, running shorts, a SBR magnet and keychain, yurbuds, a speed/cadence sensor, a footpod…

garminBut my very favorite thing was the Garmin Forerunner Running GPS.

Now I can do all those fun speed intervals that Pam wants me to do without having to guess.

I know I said I was taking a couple of weeks off from running, and I have…

But I just HAD to try the watch out…

I mean, it would have been ruse not to, right?

So, I headed out for a nice, easy 4-1/2-ish mile run yesterday afternoon, and then came home an excitedly uploaded my run to application that shows all the cool charts and graphs that I love so much.

chartsYes, I run Galloway.  Right now, I do 2 min run/30 sec walk for a 9 min mile.  I am planning to get faster.

Yes, my elevation gain was 16 FEET!  I live at the beach.

One thing that was immediately apparent, even though there WAS a north-to-south wind is that my pace is not consistent.  I go out quick and then the pace fades.

I will have to work on that.

I can also see that I will have to monitor the amount of time that gets sucked away by my new toy.  I’ve already spent a lot of time looking at all the features and playing with the monitor itself.  Once I get the bike speed/cadence sensor and footpod there will be even MORE data to play with!

My heart is so full!!! 🙂

Hope you all had wonderful Christmases (or whatever holiday you celebrate).  I’m looking forward to an amazing 2014 filled with all kids of firsts!!

Leave a Reply

