Holiday Parties – Then and Now

NOW-Then-LogoTonight Deb and I are hosting a small holiday celebration with our local consulting clients and our staff.

As I sit here at my computer at 5:30am, mapping out my strategy for getting all the food and such together by 6:00 this evening after finishing my 8 mile run this morning, I cannot help but muse over the differences between this party (our first since I adopted my new, clean, alcohol-free lifestyle) and parties past.

In years past, the question on my mind would be “Do we have enough beer/wine/liquor?” and “Did we make enough hot wings?”

LOL!  Yesterday, as Josh and I pillaged Publix in preparation for the cooking-fest of today, I marveled at how much time I spent in the produce department!

So, for your amusement, and to capture the amazing difference just a couple of years can make, I submit for your consideration “Party Menu Past” and “Party Menu Present.”

The "Wing Bowl" Buffalo Wing Eating Contest Is Held In PhiladelphiaParty Menu PAST:

  • Hot wings (HUNDREDS of them)
  • 7-layer Mexican dip with tortilla chips
  • Sausage Balls
  • Sausage/Rotel cups
  • Baked Ziti
  • Garlic Bread
  • Mixed Nuts
  • Copious quantities Beer/Wine

(The result would be a food and alcohol hangover that would incapacitate me for the better part of the next day!)

indexParty Menu PRESENT:

  • Caprese Salad (Buffalo Mozzarella cheese slices layered with tomatoes and basil, drizzled with a balsamic vinegar reduction)
  • A vegetable tree (broccoli, cauliflower, pepper slices, celery, carrots, grape tomatoes, with a yogurt based dip)
  • A fruit tree (grapes, strawberries, kiwi, cantaloupe, honeydew)
  • Turkey teriyaki meatballs with sesame dipping sauce
  • Goat cheese with sundried tomatoes and roasted garlic and baguette
  • Deviled eggs
  • Shrimp wreath with cocktail sauce
  • Mixed Nuts
  • Assorted Christmas cookies, truffles
  • 2 bottles of wine for guests, Oasys, coffee, water, iced tea

(The result will be that I have a few nibbles of the things I really want, sip Oasys in a wine glass to enjoy the ritual, enjoy my friends, and get up tomorrow and hit a 2 hour brick)

It’s funny, I look at the 2 menus and while I remember how good the past menus tasted in the moment, I also remember how awful I felt the next day.  I look at the list of what we are having tonight and I am excited about it – I know how awesome the food will be, but it’s not about the food.  I am really amped about getting such an interesting group of people together in the same space and see what happens.

Mostly, I am excited that I really have changed.  I haven’t given the fact that I won’t be drinking alcohol tonight a second thought.  If anything, that thrills my toes!  Changing your lifestyle is not an easy thing to do, but it is SO worth it!!

Leave a Reply

