Should I Stay or Should I Go?

decision cubeOh.My.GOD!!!  So, today’s blog is dedicated to something that I don’t plan to do very often (but probably will once in a while) – talking myself out of the crazy tree.

I’ve been very good this week (a crazy week on any one of 100 dimensions, but I shall not bore you with that) – nutrition has been decent, I have hit all my workouts and I have been quite focused.

This is also the week where we switched out our weightlifting routine (which we do every 4-6 weeks).  This was the plan for this week:

Monday:  Run 5 miles (45:49)
Tuesday:  Upper Body Weights + Karate (ouch)
Wednesday:  Run 7 miles (1:04:03)
Thursday:  Lower Body Weights + Karate (ouchier)
Friday:  Run 4 miles:  35:43
Saturday:  Bike 75 min/Run 15 min

Today is Saturday – today I have a brick scheduled (a baby brick, but a brick nonetheless).  Coach Pam has told me my Saturday workouts are “optional.”  Dontcha just love that – it’s an “optional” workout, as if I would consider it an “option” when it’s staring back at me on my training schedule!!

So, what’s the problem, you ask?  Just quit your whining and go do your brick, you say?

allhurtNormally, I would agree with you 100%, but today I can barely move!  I feel positively battered and BRUISED from my neck to my ankles.  (Oh and while I’m at it – Note to Self:  Next house:  1-story, please).

black-suck-it-up-buttercup-hoodies_designPart of me is saying “Just suck it up, Buttercup” and the other part is saying “Girl, if you get on that bike, I am so going to cut you!”

So, I am at a decision point…  I suppose these decision moments are tests of sorts.  Do I really have what it takes to go after triathlon?

I mean seriously, my run mileage this week is only 2/3 of what I’ll have to run in an IM – oh and, might I remind you, that’s AFTER a 2.4 mile swim (have I mentioned that I haven’t been in the pool since JULY) and a 112 mile bike.  What the hell am I thinking????

Breathe… In… Out… In… Out…

See, I don’t want to regret stuff.  I want to get to the end of this journey and know that I gave it everything I had – and skipping workouts because I’m a little bit (or a lotta bit) sore just doesn’t fit that model.

(Self talk moment:)  What?  Are you going to quit at mile 23 in the marathon because your feet hurt? NO!  You’re going to keep slogging along until you finish the damn thing.  YOU.ARE.NOT.A.QUITTER!!!  Go do work!

Okay, decision made – I guess I’m working out.  No pain, no gain and all that… 🙂

tricrowd_logo3OH!!!!  On a really cool positive note, I’ve been accepted as a Contributing Blogger for TriCrowd, which is an awesome community for triathletes of all make and model!  It’s a real honor for me!!

UPDATE:  I went.  And it was awesome!  70-ish minute bike followed by a 19-ish min run (20 mi on the bike/2 mi run).  As usual, the worst part was getting dressed, pumping up my tires, and riding to the end of the street.  Then it was all about my internal competition with the girl inside me who says “You can’t _____” 

Guess what, bitch?  I WIN!!!

2 thoughts on “Should I Stay or Should I Go?

  1. Pingback: A Decision Point… | Angie's Excellent Adventures

Leave a Reply

