Doing What You Have To Do – Even When You Don’t Want To Do It

gollumrunningmemeI confess, I did not want to run today.

Yesterday was a long day – 17 hours, mostly work (although I did have the cool opportunity to see the SpaceX satellite launch from the Kennedy Space Center with my son and then we had dinner together), and although I fell asleep nearly immediately once I finally laid down, I woke up just about every hour on the hour.

So, when the alarm went off at 4:30 this morning for Deb to head off to the pool, running 7 miles was not at the top of my list of things I wanted to do (staying in my warm, comfy bed and pulling the covers up over my head was pretty close to the top, though).

And then I thought about my training schedule and I knew that having a blank spot would eat at me all day if I didn’t just go do it.  So, I got up, did a little bit of work, got Josh off to school, dressed out and went for my run.  The first mile sucked rocks (but then it always does), but by about 10 minutes in I was back in love.

disciplineAnd there is the difference between people who make progress and people who make excuses…

Between people who succeed and people who fail…

Between people who win and people who lose…

The difference is the discipline to do what you have to do – even (and especially) when you don’t feel like doing it.

I guess I get some sick, masochistic thrill out of doing things that most people just wouldn’t do.

It reminds me of a post my friend, Cortney Martin (CortTheSport.com), made about running in dark and the rain and the freezing cold and how there was an odd sense of satisfaction in doing things most people would call her crazy for doing.

REMARKABLE-PEOPLEAnd that’s that’s the whole point, right?

I don’t want to be “most people” – I want to live a remarkable life and do remarkable things.

I have far too many years behind me where I wonder what might have happened if I had only ____ (and I can fill in the blank with so many things)…

I’m done with regret.  I’m done with wondering “what if.”

If I get some hair-brained idea now, I tend to just go for it.  Seriously, what’s the worst thing that could happen?  That’s how I registered for my first triathlon when I had no clue what was involved.  That’s how I committed to an Ironman in 2015.

And I will get there one stroke, one mile, one step at a time.

But it all starts with dragging my butt out the door to put in my miles when I feel like staying in bed.

No one ever said it would be easy, but I KNOW that it will all be worth it!

Leave a Reply

