Thanksgiving Paradigms

thanksgiving-pc-wallpapers2Thanksgivinig-Dinner2A couple of months ago, Deb and I were sitting around and the conversation turned to Thanksgiving.  I asked her, “Is there anything special you want for dinner this year?”  We started analyzing the bounty that had graced holiday tables past and we quickly came to an interesting conclusion:

We cook A LOT of stuff for the holidays that no one eats because it is SUPPOSED to be on the holiday table… PERIOD!

It’s a holiday paradigm!

And it’s so true!  Every year I make a big pot of green beans and sweet potato souffle and yeast rolls.

They look beautiful on the table, but at the end of the meal, we still have a big pot of green beans, a sweet potato souffle with maybe 2 spoonfuls missing and a massive pile of yeast rolls.  No one (even me) eats the stuff!

I make it because my mom made it, and her mom made it, and so on and so on.

So we polled each other and our kids:  “What do you need to have on the Thanksgiving table in order for it to be a wonderful satisfying meal?”

Simple-Thanksgiving-MenuAt the end of the day, the list was amazingly short:

  • Turkey
  • Gravy
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Stuffing
  • Jellied cranberry sauce
  • Sausage balls

So that’s what I made and that’s what we ate and it was FANTASTIC!!!

AND, there were very few leftovers.

AND, even better, what leftovers there were actually got eaten!!!

There were a couple of questions from the kids:  “Where is the bread?”  “What about the cranberry orange loaf?”

But, they quickly agreed that no one ever ate them – it was just conditioning that those things should be on the table.

I like the new simplified Thanksgiving tradition – I didn’t feel short-changed in the least and I really enjoyed my plate without feeling super stuffed after.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Paradigms

  1. How did I not find your blog till now?! Kudos for paring back to just what felt needed for the holiday! We also have a pretty simple T-giving. It’s not an all day eat-a-thon either so no remorse or GI upset!

    • I must admit, Cort, that I’ve been running company blogs for years, but YOUR blog inspired me to start my own! 🙂 I loved our simple Thanksgiving. It was perfect!!

Leave a Reply

