A New Chapter

got-coachI am so excited to announce that I am entering a new chapter in my health and fitness journey – I hired a coach!!

Now, Deb and I talk about needing a coach to get you past all your own mental junk all the time – you need a coach in lots of different areas of your life – a business coach, a personal coach, a financial coach, a fitness coach, and on and on.

Up to now, Deb has been my coach in all of those areas.  She has gotten me past so many blocks that I never thought I would be able to move beyond.

Physically, she has coached me to the absolute best physical condition of my life and when it comes to mindset, martial arts, strength training and weightlifting, there is no one I trust more to help me progress in a safe manner, so she will always be my coach in those areas.

And then I found triathlon…

It’s an entirely different animal – 3 different sports, thrown together back to back.  The training is hard and constant, but I love it!

I followed online training programs to get me ready for my first sprint distance triathlon and then to start training for my first olympic distance tri…

…And then I got hurt.

Deb and I had a long talk about my goals.  I told her that I wanted to pursue triathlon.  I told her why.  She told ME that I needed to find a coach – someone who knew what they were doing and could assess ME and MY needs and customize a program to help me achieve my goals.

Deb has never competed in triathlon.  It’s not her goal.

And so, I ventured into an unknown and scary place for the first time since I began this journey 4 years ago – trust someone with my goals and my physical health who was not Deb.

The serendipity of the universe never ceases to amaze me.

Ironman Triathlete Pam Giese

Ironman Triathlete Pam Giese

The morning after Deb and I had this conversation, I was invited to a nutrition seminar.  The person leading the seminar is an accomplished triathlete and just happens to live here in Port Orange.  I looked at her website.  I read the testimonials from the people she has trained.  I understand her approach to fitness and nutrition – it makes sense to me.

I contacted her, we met and talked and I hired her.

You gotta have a coach!!  Someone who sees past all your own mental bullcrap and pushes you beyond what you could ever do on your own.  I am so fortunate to have TWO awesome coaches in my life now!

Leave a Reply

