Going Broke in the Produce Department

The Dirty Dozen and Clean 15

The Dirty Dozen and Clean 15

Are you like me and about go into cardiac arrest when you check the prices of organic produce?

I was in my neighborhood Publix last week and was perusing the lovely organic produce and thinking, “I could literally go broke here!”

Then I started asking myself, are there things that I should ABSOLUTELY spend the extra money on for an organic item and are there items where it just doesn’t matter?

After spending a bloody fortune on organic apples, grapes, mushrooms, salad greens and spinach, I came home and decided to consult MY oracle of choice – The Google.

And it turns out that a bunch of smart scientists already did the work for me and have published a list of the Dirty Dozen (those produce items you should buy in an organic version if you have the option because they suck up pesticides and such) and the Clean 15 (those items that it just doesn’t seem to matter much).

Dirty Dozen

  1. Apples
  2. Celery
  3. Strawberries
  4. Peaches
  5. Spinach
  6. Nectarines (Imported)
  7. Grapes (Imported)
  8. Sweet Bell Peppers
  9. Potatoes
  10. Blueberries (Domestic)
  11. Lettuce
  12. Kale/Collard Greens

I also found a reference where this list has been expanded to include:

  1. Cherry tomatoes
  2. Cucumbers
  3. Hot Peppers
  4. Summer squashes

The Clean 15

  1. Onions
  2. Corn
  3. Pineapple
  4. Avocado
  5. Asparagus
  6. Sweet Peas
  7. Mangoes
  8. Eggplant
  9. Cantaloupe
  10. Kiwi
  11. Cabbage
  12. Watermelon
  13. Sweet potatoes
  14. Grapefruit
  15. Mushrooms

So, I hope this helps you the next time you are at the supermarket.  My son loves apples and eats at least 1 if not 2 per day, so now I know that my choice of the outrageously expensive organic apples is best for him.

That makes me feel like a better mom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

