Key to Success: Staying Organized

Not my fridge, but mine looks similar! :)

Not my fridge, but mine looks similar! 🙂

As a rule, our family follows a very regimented nutrition program.  We do indeed have our “free day” each week, but the other 6 days are very structured.

When the schedule is crazy (like it has been lately) with training, Josh’s activities, travel and work events, the thing that saves me in the nutrition department is to prep in advance.

That’s exactly what I did this morning.  After my workout, I headed to the market and bought food for the week – which consisted mostly of fresh, organic produce.  You know you’re on the right track with your food plan when the checkout clerk and the bagger assess your food on the belt and look at you wide-eyed and say, “How can you eat like THAT?”

When I got home, I set aside all the eggs, chicken, fish, fruits and veggies aside on the counter, put everything else away and then got to work boiling eggs, cutting salmon and chicken filets into 6 oz. portions, peeling, chopping, washing, and re-packaging all the fruit and veggies into grab and go portion sizes and ready to cook packs.

I baked a loaf of honey wheat sandwich bread in the bread machine for Josh’s lunches and put a big pot of chicken/veggie soup on the stove.

It took some time up front, but now we’re pretty much good to go for the week.

Now, each morning it’s just a matter of pulling the stuff for dinner out of the freezer and putting the already prepped lunches and snacks into the right lunch sacks.

I don’t want to leave our meals to chance – especially as we head into holiday season and there may be less than ideal food in the house.

I’ve worked far too hard this year for the gains (and losses) I’ve made and I’ll be darned if I’ll be derailed by a lack of planning.

What’s your go-to strategy for putting your meal planning on auto-pilot?

Leave a Reply

