Step #6: Forget It All

cheat-dayStep #6 in your quest to turn back the hands of time to a place where your body operates efficiently, like a well tuned nutritional processing machine is to FORGET IT ALL!

One day a week just throw all the rules out the window and eat whatever you want.

We call it the Free Day.

This simple act of freedom and permission practically eliminates cravings and binges, because no food is forbidden and nothing you want is ever more than 6 days away.  PERIOD!!

The psychological benefits of the Free Day are obvious – no craving is more than 6 days away from total satisfaction.

But there are also great physiological benefits as well.

If you are eating without restriction on your Free Day, you will inevitably spike your calories beyond what you eat in a normal day.

This keeps your metabolism from adjusting to a certain set point and keeps your body burning fat at a high level all week long.

Now, what generally happens with the Free Day – until you get used to it – is one of two scenarios:

1.  The concept is just so foreign that you can’t fully embrace it.  I’ve been there.  When I first started eating this way, almost 4 years ago, I just couldn’t buy into the Free Day.  It was so completely opposed to everything I had ever learned about “dieting.”  So I would pretty much eat normally, but would drink wine as my treat.  And over time, my weight plateaued.  Deb suggested that I really try a REAL free day.  I was skeptical, but I tried it, and the scale started moving again.  I know, CRAZY!!!

food-bender2.  You eat anything and everything and make yourself sick by the end of the day.  Yep, that’s the other extreme and I’ve done that too!  There have been weeks when I have multiple cravings and I over-indulge every single one of them on my Free Day, to the point where I feel like I’m going to throw up by the end of the day.  Okay people, the point of the free day is to satisfy your cravings, to “break bad” and enjoy something decadent that you just normally would place off limits, NOT to end up like an ancient roman after a feast!!

Happily, over time you will find a happy medium – where you enjoy some extras, spike your calories and banish your cravings on your Free Day without making yourself ill.

So that’s it – 6 steps that are simple and doable by anyone that will make a huge difference in your results.  It’s not an overnight fix or a magic bullet, but there are most definitely steps you can take and small tweaks in your eating habits that you can make that can move you back in time – to a time when your body operated as an efficient machine instead of a broken down jalopy.

Leave a Reply

