Step #5: Eat Clean

eat-cleanStep #5 in turning your body into a nutrition absorbing, calories smoking beast is to eat clean.

It’s a catchy phrase, but what exactly does it mean?

To be succinct, eating clean means fresh, whole foods. It means consuming foods found in nature instead of manufactured in a science lab.

It means eating food that is free of additives, preservatives, hormones, GMO ingredients, and pesticides.

It means eating foods that nourish your body instead of harm your health.

At its most basic level, eating clean means eating real food – that’s all.

If you read the ingredients on a package and you can’t pronounce them, don’t eat them.

There are 2 mottos I live by:

grandmother1. If my Grandmother wouldn’t recognize it as food, I don’t eat it.

plant2. If it came from a plant, eat it. If it’s made in a plant, don’t.

I am not a vegetarian.  I eat LOTS of fruits and vegetables, but I also eat a full spectrum of organic, hormone/anti-biotic free fish, chicken, beef, and seafood – I, personally, find it difficult to get all the protein my body requires on an all-plant diet.

I am currently on a quest to eliminate preservatives from my life. It is not easy and it takes some planning, but it is so worth it!

I bake my own bread (it took some iterations to come up with a recipe my son liked for sandwiches, but I found it).

I even make my own cottage cheese – which is so good by the way, and ridiculously easy.

Here are 9 Tips to help you clean up your diet:

1. Eat foods without labels. It’s that simple. Real food has only 1 ingredient.

2. If food has its own TV commercial, leave it at the grocery store. You’ll notice broccoli and apples don’t have their own marketing campaign.

3. Ban hydrogenated oil from your grocery cart, kitchen cupboards, and mouth.

4. If you can’t pronounce ingredients, don’t eat them. If your mouth can’t speak them, your body can’t digest them.

5. If you do consume packaged foods, opt for those with less than 5 ingredients.

6. Of those 5 ingredients, throw out any with sugar, white flour, artificial sweeteners, white rice, and high fructose corn syrup listed as one of the ingredients.

7. Stick to coconut oil and olive oil for cooking. Highly processed oils, like corn and soy based oils are toxic to your body.

8. Remove artificial sweeteners, preservatives, additives, and food dyes from your diet. They cause gas, belly fat, slow metabolism, and food addiction.

9. HYDRATE! Drink ample amounts of water daily.

Leave a Reply

