The Gluten-Free/Dairy-Free Family

GFCFIt’s one thing when you, as an individual, decide to make some changes in your diet, but it’s a whole other animal when you decide to bring your family along for the ride.

Back in August, I made the decision to remove wheat and dairy from my normal, everyday diet (free days are a different story and I can eat what I want on those days), based upon the advice and guidance of my health coach.  I don’t have celiac disease, I am not wheat intolerant, nor am I lactose intolerant – it was purely and simply a strategy that might get the scale moving again.

This was NOT a decision I made lightly.

Cheese was one of the staples of my diet… I love bread, and all things “bready”… Our days began and ended with nutrition shakes that were mixed in skim milk … and on and on.  I think we probably spent $75-100 at the market on breads, milk and cheeses – every WEEK!!!

So, this was a BIG deal for me!

quick-gfdf-gluten-free-dairy-free-school-lunch-ideas_thumb3The first week was hell – just like detoxing from coffee or sugar – headaches, digestive adjustments, irritability – WOW!  But after the first week, I felt better and what I noticed was that my body just kind of deflated – like a balloon with a slow leak.

Dairy – cheese, especially – is incredibly inflammatory and it seemed that I was carrying around a lot of “bloat.”

Deb noticed the difference as well and she climbed on the bandwagon and she had the same results – a dramatic “deflation.”

Our daughter, Nicki, came home for Christmas break and she was impressed with my results while she was away at school, so on January 2nd she too went gluten-free/dairy-free.

Our 11-year old son has now jumped on board as well.  If it’s good for us, it should be good for him too.  He is very excited about taking his nutrition and wellness to the next level starting this weekend.

So, we will see how this all plays out, but so far so good.

For myself, I can tell you that I have lost 15 pounds, dropped my body fat percentage by 5 %, and am wearing a size 6 (which is the smallest ever in my adult life).  My physical endurance is at an all time high.  My brain is clearer and I am able to focus much better.

This is just anecdotal evidence based on personal experience and I’m not saying this is the perfect lifestyle for everyone, and anyone concerned about it should talk to a doctor, but I feel better than I did when I was 20 and I can do things I couldn’t do when I was 20.

May just be worth a thought…

Leave a Reply

